Leaders to Leader

Lessons from the Great American Leaders & How They Apply Now

The Cruelest April Fool’s Joke Ever

with 3 comments

blogIdeasI would like to explain to my regular subscribers why I haven’t posted on my blog since the beginning of April. I do apologize.

I had been suffering what I supposed was a cold since late January. It all came to a head over Easter weekend, and I was admitted into the hospital on April 1, when I was diagnosed with cancer.

This came as a surprise to me since cancer does not run in my family and there is no history as far as I can tell on either side of my family. Nonetheless, I have cancer, a fact I can accept and live with, as well as my mortality.

Several days later, I was informed it was stage four blastoid mantel cell lymphoma, a particularly nasty and aggressive strain, with a six month prognosis without immediate treatment. I was placed back in the hospital to receive chemotherapy.

I always thought chemo was administered for several hours at a time. I was wrong. I receive mine for 5 days at a time, with about two weeks to recover, if that’s the word, before I start my next round. In total I must complete eight rounds and then complete a bone marrow treatment, which should be complete by the end of this year.

The first two rounds were a barrel of laughs, with the third beginning this week, including losing my hair and a ton of weight, which I could afford to lose.

Needless to say this has knocked me off my feet for a while and I am finally getting to the point to post again and hopefully shortly get back on schedule. It may start several times a week and finally get back to my daily schedule, but I assure you, I haven’t gone away, nor forgotten my many followers.

For those of you God moves and wish to help, my wife established a medical fund at GiveForward.com. Unfortunately, I was priced out of the insurance market and do not have medical insurance. I am working with the thee hospitals involved to have my medical costs covered, but I don’t know how far they plan to help.

The chemo drugs are very expensive, with one bag costing $53,000 per round. So if God moves your heart, it is deeply appreciated. Otherwise prayers are always freely accepted.

I look forward to connecting again in the near future.

Timothy F. Bednarz, Ph.D. | Author | Publisher | Majorium Business Press
Author of Great! What Makes Leaders Great: What They Did, How They Did It and What You Can Learn From It (Finalist – 2011 Foreword Reviews‘ Book of the Year)
Linkedin | Facebook | Twitter | Web| Blog | Catalog |800.654.4935 | 715.342.1018

Copyright © 2013 Timothy F. Bednarz, All Rights Reserved

Written by Timothy F. Bednarz, Ph.D.

May 16, 2013 at 2:26 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG Tim I just came across this by accident. I don’t always follow up Linkidin, I am so sorry to read this. We keep you in our prayers daily and Shirley. We’ll put you on our Prayer Chain. DON’T give up! God is a healing God! You’re going through a terrible time, but you can be victorious over this. I will write you and Shirley. Just wanted to leave a comment tonight. With love and prayers for you both. Stasia

    Stella Pridon

    May 24, 2013 at 9:41 pm

  2. TIm. I just read about your health and treatment you are undergoing through. I pray to the Almighty to grant you speedy recovery and great health. May God’s grance shower upon you. Best regards , Ram

    Ram

    August 17, 2013 at 7:52 am


Leave a Reply

